Thinking About Thinking

The title says it all. And poses the problem.

From: http://www.topnews.in/health/files/Brain-Power.jpg

The semester has just ended and I have been busy thinking (on some level) for four to five months straight. Sometimes I did not want to think. But now I do. The problem is that now that I do, I am having trouble doing it.

It hasn’t helped that I’m surrounded by people who are thinking. As I was thinking about writing this blog look what I saw on a friend’s blog.

So now I feel much like Melissa Gutierrez explained at times in her Spain journal (the reading of which showed she has a lot of blog-worthy thoughts – bug her to post if you know her!). She described her “thinker” as not being on.

And so, dear two readers, my thinker is not on. I am on a quest to remedy that. I browsed over 100 entries on Google Reader and have not yet come to anything. I know I promised some thoughts on interpretation but they are not yet coming.

But I have a plan. Reading, discussing with aforementioned Melissa and going to Cambridge in a month. Hopefully that will do it. Hopefully I’ll have some thoughts to share before then.

In the meantime, please help me out – what do you do to turn your thinker on?

2 thoughts on “Thinking About Thinking

  1. Caffeine, working with small children, turning off the TV, caffeine, reading books by people with different belief systems than my own, noticing things and asking about them, caffeine. These all help, so does drinking water and a good night’s sleep.

    The problem with “stimulation” — things like Google Reader, the daily news, other media influx, and really all of school — is that it can do the thinking for us. We come to expect these things to spark thought in us, when really, encountering them can prove to be just watching someone else’s spark. I don’t know that there’s a tangible difference between passively and actively gaining input, so the responsibility might be on us: do we simply live and encounter stimulation in the act of living, or do we live off of and for stimulation? Is life itself stimulation enough?

  2. Hey Matt,

    I was wondering if you would be willing to write a post on redemption in Hosea. The points you made in class came to mind the other day and I realized that I possibly agree–though I do not remember everything you said clearly.

    I realize that I did not answer your question, ‘what do you do to turn your thinker on?’ but I wanted to hear more of your thoughts on Hosea.

    …also, if you have time, I would like to hear some of your afterthoughts about Calvin (i.e. your explanation of or critical thoughts about his theology, ecclesiology, soteriology, etc.).

Leave a Reply

