My Bookmarks – Part 2

This marks the second entry, which is a good sign. Why, you might ask? Because it means that I have blogged a second time soon enough to the previous entry to warrant not simply starting over. Okay, maybe that is not a good sign for you necessarily but for me it’s a sign of discipline.

Last time I introduced the first of the bookmarks on my toolbar, today I progress to the next one.
2. Amazon.com: Online shopping is an incredible phenomenon. It makes life incredibly convenient. When it comes time to order books for the semester I am bound to log on at some point and place an order that will actually be delivered to my place of residence (and if the total order is over $25, for free). And this incredible convenience does not even include the fact that I feel grown-up and mature for purchasing things online through my own account. Needless to say I like Amazon. A lot.
However, when thinking about online purchasing I was reminded of a conversation I had with several friends recently. Whether or not the actual statements were factual I do not know but one of my friends (Jason Roszhart, for those who may know him and who deserves credit for sparking this thought) pointed out that while Disneyland is incredibly enjoyable we should consider that the amount of water that Disneyland uses may drive up prices for other Anaheim residents. I can hear the thought in your mind and let me record it for you – “WHAT? What does that have to do with anything?” Jason’s point was much larger than simply a critique of the Happiest Place on Earth; his point was that as Christians we are called to consider every aspect of our lives through the filter of Christ and how he would have us act. Our actions have greater consequences than we can perhaps fathom.
I started thinking of my Amazon shopping in terms of this idea. What are the consequences of my purchasing my books online instead of at the local bookstore. Sure, a place like Borders is not going to be hurt but perhaps that small local Christian bookstore might be. Is this a reason to stop buying online? Probably not, but it is important as Christians that we look with a careful eye at all we do and question it through the lens of Christ-likeness (which is what this whole series of blog posts is about right?).
And so today’s question: What are the consequences of online shopping? Could it be heralding a new era of selfishness, laziness and big corporate consumption? Or could it actually be the pathway to healthy convenience?
Leave a Reply

