My Bookmarks – Part 1

Everytime I return to this blog after an extended absence I feel it necessary to revamp, renew and re-envision the entire thing. However, as I realize that all those restarts have failed to increase my blogging, I figure that this time I will just write things of interest and see what it ends up becoming.

So here’s the concept of this blog (I’m a big explanatory road-mapper type of guy – excluding that one C-/D+ I got because my teacher could not find my thesis): I like series of blogs. I think they’re a neat thing. So I wanted to write one myself (for what has been a fascinating series of posts see the “I Wonder” series here). Earlier today I was also thinking a lot about social networking sites and the internet. So I have decided to marry the two inspirations and…wait for it…write about my internet bookmarks – specifically the ones in my “toolbar” or the ones that I access most often. Here goes (most of them will be in order that they appear on my toolbar but I may group some together for the sake of avoiding repetition):
1. Google Reader/Readability/Subscribe: These are in fact three different bookmarks that I have, the latter two of which are not always immediately available but are extremely useful. On a brief explanatory side note, Readability is a sort of in-browser app that removes adds from a page and Subscribe is what I called the way that I bring a blog into Google Reader so I can follow it there.
My use of Google Reader stems mainly out of the fact that I was overwhelmed by all of the potential news content on the web – it gives me a way to narrow down what I read. Of particular significance to this change from browsing random news sites to a consolidated view in Google Reader was a podcast I listened to concerning the way we consume internet media. We live in such a world of headlines and blurbs but rarely do we take the time to get the whole story, read the whole article, form a holistic opinion. Using Google Reader, I “star” articles I want to read fully lately and do. In some respects, it’s a discipline that will hopefully lead to future holistic habits (is it ridiculous to think how I browse the web will positively influence the rest of my life? hopefully not!). Google Reader, then, is an intentional means of fully and not partially accessing the web.
As I look at each bookmark I see that they all raise various questions about the way we interact with information and the web. I look forward to pondering and asking them. But today’s question: Should we read headlines only or should we discipline ourselves to read the article? The ramifications seem large and the trend in answering this question will have an impact on the future of literature.
2 thoughts on “My Bookmarks – Part 1

  1. a. the teacher couldn't find the thesis because you didn't have one (if i'm recalling the right paper)b. i hope you really go through with this series! looking forward to seeing the rest of itc. you should read the article (and not just the headlines) because some poor fledgling writer journalist worked their tail off to get it on there, and it's their magnum opus. to not read the whole article is really to choose not to love someone well.

Leave a Reply

